Vaidra at a glance
| Free tier | Free Explorer plan: 2 Mains answer evaluations a day and 5 UPSC GPT queries a day. |
| Paid plans | Achiever ₹399 a month or ₹4,199 a year (unlimited Mains evaluations); Champion ₹999 a month or ₹10,000 a year (adds analytics, study plans, mentorship features). 7-day money-back on paid plans; cancel any time. |
| Marks against | UPSC marking patterns (stated in general terms) |
| Checked | On its own pages, 20 October 2026 |
What Vaidra says it does
- Accepts handwritten answer uploads via OCR, on its comparison page
- Its demo report shows five scored areas (content relevance, answer structure, constitutional references, critical analysis, conclusion), marked “Illustrative demo”; how they are scored is not stated
- A “View Model Answer” button in the demo; what it contains is not stated
- Hindi and English; 20,000+ previous year questions, UPSC GPT mentor and daily current affairs on the same platform
Part of a wider UPSC preparation platform. Its pages say the AI Mains Evaluator gives feedback in under 60 seconds with “examiner-style comments, detailed suggestions, and scoring”, based on “UPSC marking patterns”. The evaluator itself sits behind a sign-in, so its output was not read. Topper answers are not mentioned.
What it claims
Quoted from its own pages; writeupsc has not tested these.
- “the widest free tier among AI-powered IAS preparation platforms”
- “helped thousands of aspirants improve their answer writing”
What it does not state
- Compares with real topper answers
- Draws a diagram for the answer
- No score without a reference
Mentioned only in general terms: model answer in topper style, marks by dimension.
Side by side
| What you get | writeupsc | Vaidra |
|---|---|---|
| Reads your handwritten pages | ✓ | ✓ |
| Compares with real topper answers | ✓ | – |
| Model answer in topper style | ✓ | ~ |
| Draws a diagram for the answer | ✓ | – |
| Marks by dimension | ✓ | ~ |
| No score without a reference | ✓ | – |
✓ stated on the tool’s own page · ✗ the page says the opposite · ~ mentioned only in general terms · – not stated. Features checked on 21 September 2026, re-read on 18 October 2026.
| Vaidra | writeupsc | |
|---|---|---|
| Free | Free Explorer plan: 2 Mains answer evaluations a day and 5 UPSC GPT queries a day. | 1 evaluation per Google account, no card. |
| Paid | Achiever ₹399 a month or ₹4,199 a year (unlimited Mains evaluations); Champion ₹999 a month or ₹10,000 a year (adds analytics, study plans, mentorship features). 7-day money-back on paid plans; cancel any time. | ₹39 for 5 evaluations (₹49 after 30 Oct 2026, once per account); a 30-day pass of 30 evaluations for ₹99 (₹249 after). One-time payments, no auto-renewal; refund if unused within 7 days. |
What changes if you use writeupsc
- The reference is real. Your answer is compared with the closest questions in a bank of 5,901 topper answers, and every reference opens the published booklet page.
- The feedback is a change, not a rewrite. Where to write it, what to write, and how many toppers did it.
- Seven criteria, each placed against what the toppers did.
- No score without evidence. If no close topper answer exists, it says so.
When Vaidra may suit you better
If you want more free evaluations, coverage beyond UPSC Mains, or a tool bundled with other preparation, compare its free tier and plans above with writeupsc’s. writeupsc is built for one thing: putting your handwritten answer beside real topper answers.
See a real writeupsc evaluation, or run one of your own answers: 1 free, Google sign-in, no card.
Questions
Is Vaidra free?
Partly. Its free tier, as stated on its own page on 20 October 2026: Free Explorer plan: 2 Mains answer evaluations a day and 5 UPSC GPT queries a day.
How much does Vaidra cost?
Achiever ₹399 a month or ₹4,199 a year (unlimited Mains evaluations); Champion ₹999 a month or ₹10,000 a year (adds analytics, study plans, mentorship features). 7-day money-back on paid plans; cancel any time.
Is writeupsc a free Vaidra alternative?
Free to start: 1 evaluation with a Google sign-in and no card. After that, ₹39 for 5 evaluations or a 30-day pass, with no auto-renewal.
Where do these facts about the other tool come from?
From its own public pages (home, pricing, app store listing), read on 20 October 2026. If it has changed, write to us and the page is corrected.
See how your own answer compares.
Photograph the sheet the way you wrote it. 1 free evaluation with a Google account, no card.